REVIEW: The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

35235624

Expected publication: February 20, 2018

Berkley Books

 

“We all have our secrets” was the first thing I read when I looked at the cover of the book.  Then I flipped the book over and saw…

“You’ll never look at your friends the same way again”

Both of those sentences intrigued me and I was excited to get reading.

Six friends from University spend a blissful week on holiday in a French farmhouse. It’s almost a perfect week….

Well except for the fact that “the mademoiselle next door” they met, disappeared without a trace right after they left to go home to Britain.

 “Severine, slim and lithe in a tiny black bikini, her walnut brown skim impossibly smooth in the sun, one hip cocked with the foot pointing away as if ready to saunter off the moment she lost interest”

Ten years later…

When Tom calls Kate, she realizes it’s been awhile since they last spoke. When he asks if she remembers “that summer”, she knows immediately what he’s talking about…

 “They found her. Her body”

Kate isn’t really all that concerned. She’s focused on getting her legal head-hunter business off the ground. But as it turns out, Kate should be concerned. The French police are re-opening the case now that Severine’s body has been found.  They want to talk to the group of friends again, since they were apparently the last people to see her.

Kate feels like Severine is haunting her….Kate knows she’s not really there but even thinking about Severine stirs up memories…. unwanted memories.

And it seems that the investigator from the French police, Monsieur Alain Moden keeps showing up and asking some hard questions. He says it’s just procedure…but then keeps popping up unexpectedly asking even more questions and making accusations. The group of friends all seem to have different memories of that holiday and they all have their own secrets…

Why did they argue the last night of their holiday?  What are they hiding?

Over time things change and you may not remember them in the way they actually happened. Is it memory loss or deception disguised that way?

So what really happened to Severine?

“The French Girl” was a slow-paced but interesting read. The plot was good; I just wish it was a bit heavier on the suspense. All in all a good debut novel that has me looking forward to more from Lexie Elliott.

Thank you, Berkley Books for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

Advertisements

TAG: The Playlist Shuffle

the-playlist-shuffle-tag

I’m not positive who tagged me for The Playlist Shuffle but I think it may have been Mischenko from over at ReadRantRock&Roll

Mischenko has a REALLY awesome blog where she posts about books, movies, music, and more. She’s very cool and super friendly. You should really check out her blog when you have the chance.

I’m really behind on tags but came across this one today and thought it looked like fun.

The Rules

  • Put your music on shuffle and list the first 15 songs to play (no cheating).
  • Tag 10 others to do it as well (I know many of you have done this already so this will just be an open invitation for any of you who would like to join in!!)  

My Shuffle (Please don’t judge)

 

One by Metallica

A Boy Named Sue by Johnny Cash

I Don’t Like Mondays by The Boomtown Rats

Bloody MF’ing Asshole by Martha Wainwright

Cold by Crossfade

The Ghost in You by The Psychedelic Furs

Things We Lost In The Fire by Bastille

I Really Like You by Carly Rae Jepsen

Not Afraid by Eminem

The Promise by When In Rome

In The End by Linkin Park

 i hate u, i love u by gnash ft. olivia o’brien

Goodbye Earl by The Dixie Chicks

Steal My Girl by One Direction

Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd

 

REVIEW – Hold Tight by Harlan Coben

2177236

Hold Tight by Harlan Coben

Published March 3, 2009 by Dutton

Can you ever know too much about your children? When does keeping an eye on things turn to spying? In this day and age a parent does have to be vigilant about what their child is doing…especially online. However, we want to have our children grow up feeling they have a right to privacy, so it’s a really fine line.

In “Hold Tight” Mike and Tia Baye are concerned about Adam, their sixteen-year-old son. Adam seems to be pulling away from them and acting secretive. He’s been very distant since the suicide of his classmate, Spencer. Mike and Tia become increasingly concerned and decide to install a spy program on Adam’s computer. Soon after they come across a message telling Adam to “Stay quiet“.

Meanwhile Spencer’s mom has come across a picture taken the night of Spencer’s suicide and it looks as though Adam was actually with Spencer that night.

Then Adam goes missing….

Hold Tight” was a good read with some interesting characters. There are a few storylines, so at times it was tough keeping track of everything. I also found that this was a bit slower paced than some of the author’s other novels. However, once I was a few chapters in, I was thoroughly engrossed in what was happening and found it hard to put down.

All in all this was quite an enjoyable read and I was really impressed with how the author tied everything together. It kept me guessing with it twists and turns until it’s unexpected but satisfying ending.

I look forward to more from Harlan Coben.

Throwback Thursday: Someone Is Watching by Joy Fielding

throwbackthursday

 

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is: Someone is Watching by Joy Fielding

 

22694047

 

Published March 24, 2015 by Ballantine Books 

 

Goodreads description:

Perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner, Mary Higgins Clark, and Jenny Milchman, Someone Is Watching is a pulse-pounding, edge-of-your-seat novel of suspense.

As a special investigator for a hotshot Miami law firm, Bailey Carpenter is smart, savvy, and fearless. When she’s assigned to spy on a deadbeat dad in the middle of the night, Bailey thinks nothing of the potential dangers, only that she needs to gather evidence. Then she is blindsided—attacked and nearly killed.

Now the firm grip Bailey once had on her life is shaken. Her nightmares merge into her waking hours and she’s unable to venture beyond her front door without panicking. A veritable prisoner in her own home, Bailey is uncertain whom she can trust. But old habits die-hard, and soon Bailey finds a new use for her idle binoculars: casually observing from her window neighboring buildings and other people’s lives. This seemingly harmless diversion becomes a guilty pleasure when Bailey fixates on the handsome guy across the street—until she realizes that he is also watching her. Suddenly she must confront the terrifying possibility that he may be the man who shattered her life.

Though crippled by fear, Bailey knows she can’t ignore her suspicions and risk leaving a predator at large. With the police making no headway in solving her case, she’s determined to overcome her terror and reclaim the power she lost by unmasking her attacker and taking him down herself. But it’s a harrowing battle that threatens to wreck Bailey’s credibility, compromise an investigation, and maybe even claim her sanity.

 

My Thoughts:

Although I’ve enjoyed many of Joy Fielding’s novels “Someone is Watching” is one of my favorites.

Bailey Carpenter is a private detective who was recently assaulted while working a case. After the assault she withdraws from her life completely. She won’t even leave her apartment. Life is nothing like it used to be. But then comes the day that Bailey picks up her binoculars and begins spying on her neighbors. It’s harmless fun. Until the day a man she’s been watching……starts watching her back.

In addition to coping with the aftermath of her assault she is also dealing with animosity from family over an inheritance. With everything going on in her life she starts to wonder what is real and what isn’t. She feels as though she may be losing touch with reality.

I really enjoyed this book. Great characters and an interesting story line that kept me gripped from start to finish.

Another great read from Joy Fielding.

Highly Recommended!!