Review: The Girls

The GirlsThe Girls by Emma Cline

Published June 14, 2016

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book by Emma Cline. I wasn’t sure when I picked it up what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised.

It’s the start of summer in Northern California and Evie Boyd, an average teenager is a bit lonely and bored. Her parents are splitting up, she’s fighting with one of her only friends and feels like no one understands her. However, that all changes after she meets a wild and fun group of girls in the park who seem to be all about having fun and being free. She can sense an undercurrent of danger and it only makes her want to belong to this group even more.

It’s not long before Evie starts to pull away from her mother, spending more time with the group especially Suzanne. Suzanne is an older girl that Evie is completely enamored with.

“No one had ever looked at me before Suzanne, not really, so she became my definition. Her gaze softening my centre so easily that even photographs of her seemed aimed at me, ignited with private meaning.”

But Evie is quickly becoming obsessed. Especially once she’s been to the ranch and meets the larger than life Russell. Evie desperately wants to stay on the ranch. She feels like no one else understands her like these people do, especially Suzanne. But Evie doesn’t realize how quickly things can change and soon comes the time where everything changes…in what seems like the blink of an eye.

I really didn’t know how I was going to feel about this book. I really felt like it snuck up on me. There wasn’t non-stop action, but there didn’t need to be. The writing was great and I really liked how the story was laid out. We hear about Evie’s life both back then and now. We see how it all plays out and it’s fascinating. This is a well-written, intoxicating book that I won’t soon forget.

Thank you to NetGalley, the publisher and Emma Cline for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

