Review: Miller’s Valley

Miller's ValleyMiller’s Valley by Anna Quindlen

Published April 5, 2016

Random House
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have read quite a few of Anna Quindlen’s books and I have enjoyed them all.

Miller’s Valley was no exception.

During the first few chapters I was really wondering if I was going to be able to keep reading. It wasn’t that it was hard to follow, if anything it just felt like there wasn’t much going on. But as I kept reading, it kind of snuck up on me, pulling me along and before I knew I was nearing the end of a story I wish would go on.

Told from Mary Margaret “Mimi” Miller’s point of view as she grows up on her family farm. Mary Margaret is a Miller of Miller’s Valley. Over the years Mimi hears a lot through the vent in her house. When the sump pump is off it makes for easy listening to whatever talks are happening in the kitchen. A lot of local gossip but especially a lot of talk about the plans for Miller’s Valley.

A true coming of age story. I became attached to the characters and the things that were happening in their lives. This novel is full of such wonderful and well-developed characters. I could feel both their happiness and their pain as they go through the trials and tribulations of life.

I loved Mimi Miller. Seeing her grow from an 11 year old child to an adult, I enjoyed as she interacted with those around her.

Anna Quindlen has an incredible way of writing about people, relationships and family dynamics. A lot of the situations that come up in her books are things that could easily happen to any of us, which makes it a story that many can relate to.

This is a well written and beautiful novel that I am very happy to have had the chance to read.

I hope I don’t have to wait too long for more from this phenomenal author.

Thank you to NetGalley, Random House and Anna Quindlen for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

