Review: All the Missing Girls

All the Missing GirlsAll the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Published June 28, 2016

Simon & Schuster

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After reading the description for this book I was really intrigued. Then I read the “Dear Reader” at the start of the book which stated that I would be spellbound and unable to stop reading until I found out what happened to the missing girls. That the twist makes it unlike any reading experience I’ve ever had. Phew!!

“The book is told backward. After the setup, the story jumps ahead fifteen days and then counts down, day by day, until we reach the beginning again”

This is a story about the disappearances of two young women – a decade apart – told in reverse.

Now I was more than intrigued…I was psyched! But to be honest I was also a little concerned as to how this was going to turn out. But I couldn’t wait to read it.

The way this book is written, makes it hard to read anything else at the same time. I sometimes like to read two or three books at a time. With this one that would be difficult. And once I was into it I didn’t want to read anything else. I wanted to know what happened! Definitely not a book that I could speed read.

Nicolette (Nic) Farrell left home ten years ago after her best friend Corinne went missing. Nic has and returned only a few times to visit. Corinne has never been found, her case never solved.

Nic receives a call from her brother Daniel stating that their father is not doing well and some decisions have to be made. Two days before her brother’s call she received a letter in the mail. The letter says “I need to talk to you” and “That girl, I saw that girl.”

The letter is from her father.

“Corinne was larger than life here. Had become even larger because she disappeared.”

Nic decides that she needs to go home.

“Tick-tock, Nic”

Now just like Corinne went missing all those years ago, another woman, Annaleise is missing. Annaleise just happens to be Nic’s neighbor and was recently dating Nic’s ex-boyfriend, Tyler.

Are the two cases connected?

What really happened to Corinne all those years ago? And where is Annaleise? Nic is determined to find out. To do so she has to look closely at all of her friends and family. She needs to look at everyone’s relationship with Corinne….including her own.

“The facts. The facts were fluid, and changed, depending on the point of view. The facts were easily distorted. The facts were not always right”

I thought All the Missing Girls was a good psychological suspense. Well written and gripping. There were times I did get confused and had to read back a few pages. But the story is very interesting and it was hard to put down. I look forward to more from Megan Miranda.

Thank you to NetGalley, Simon & Schuster, and Megan Miranda for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

