Title: Out of the Storm

Out of the StormOut of the Storm by Carol Ashe

Published February 17, 2016

FriesenPress

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 
When Carol Ashe contacted me and asked if I would like to read her debut novel, “Out of the Storm” I was happy to say yes. Born and raised in Winnipeg, I was thrilled to read a book with Winnipeg so prominently featured. The events in the book take place in my hometown as well as other parts of Canada, including Calgary and Ontario.

Isabelle Carte (Isa for short), is a dedicated detective with the Winnipeg police force. So dedicated to her job that when her relationship with her fiancé, Robert ends she really isn’t all that upset about it.

But things hit a little closer to home when a man becomes obsessed with Isabelle. He begins killing women just to get her attention. Is it someone Isa knows? Who would go so far as to kill just to get her attention?

***Possibly some minor spoilers***

Isabelle decides that her family’s camp in Ontario is the best place for her to stay for now.   After making their way to the cabin, Isabelle and her dog, Jack settle in for some well deserved rest and relaxation.

At first Isabelle doesn’t realize she’s not alone up at camp. A neighbor, Alec Reed is also at the lake to renovate his family’s cabin, which hasn’t been used since a family tragedy years before. Neither Alec nor Isa is happy to see each other….but it’s not long before that all changes. But there are many obstacles that they will have to overcome if they want to make it work. Will Alec be able to deal with Isa’s job and the danger it entails?

As the investigation into Isabelle’s stalker continues, she is even more determined to solve the case.  At the same time, Alec becomes even more worried for Isa’s safety. They both know she can’t hide out at camp forever.

But there is also a madman on the loose who wants Isabelle all to himself and he’s not about to let her go without a fight.

I really enjoyed this debut novel.  I don’t often read romantic suspense novels so it was a nice change of pace. This was a quick read with an interesting plot and great characters. The descriptions of Isabelle’s family’s property made me wish I was there.  I love life at the cabin and it reminded me of all of the times I spent up at the lake over the years. The suspense was good and I enjoyed watching the relationship between Isa and Alec grow.

The way the book ended made it seem like there may be more books to come in this series.  I am definitely interested in finding out what happens, and I look forward to reading more from this author.

Thank you, Carol Ashe for sending me this book in exchange for my honest review.

 

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

