Review – Shine

ShineShine by Jodi Picoult

Published September 13, 2016

Ballantine Books

 

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

I have been looking forward to reading Jodi Picoult’s upcoming new novel “Small Great Things” and I was pleased to find this prequel to the book. “Shine” is not a long book but it was quite an interesting read and a great way to introduce some of the characters that will be in the new book. In “Shine” we meet a wonderful and unforgettable character, Ruth Brooks.

Ruth is nervous about starting her first day of third grade at Dalton, a prominent school on New York’s Upper East Side. On the one hand will miss her old school in Harlem that she attended with her sister, but on the other hand she’s excited that she’ll be with her friend, Christina at the new school. Christina is also the daughter of Ruth’s mother’s long-time employer. However, it’s not long before Ruth feels like everyone is treating her differently and she doesn’t think it’s just because she’s new to the school…

I will leave it at that, but I really enjoyed this thought-provoking novella. I’m looking forward to reading “Small Great Things” even more now.

Jodi Picoult is one of my favorite authors and I will honestly read anything she writes. I look forward to the release of a new book from her each year. I may like some more than others, but I always find something that I connect with in some way. It’s obvious how much research goes into each of her novels and I appreciate it. Whether the book is about family, love, relationships, religion, cancer, medical emancipation, death, sexual assault, mental illness, addiction, even whales or elephants. I always learn something new, and I love that about her novels.

“Shine” is the perfect appetizer to what looks to me like another great read. I have a feeling that it won’t take me long to read “Small Great Things” and I can’t wait to start it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

