Review – Give it Back

Give It BackGive It Back by Danielle Esplin

Published April 7, 2016

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I was contacted by Danielle Esplin, who generously offered to send me a copy of her debut novel in exchange for an honest review, I was quite happy. I already had the book on my “to be read” shelf and was really looking forward to reading it.

“Give it Back” follows the lives of three characters. Lorraine, Lexy, and Ella are all connected in some way and all of them have secrets.

The story begins as Lorraine’s sister, Ella is getting ready to go see her. Lorraine is dealing with some serious medical issues and Ella knows she should be there for her sister and her two nephews.

Lorraine is divorced. She was devastated after her husband, Craig left her for Martha, his mistress. Now Martha lives with Craig in the beautiful home that Lorraine designed for HER family. Lorraine and Craig share custody of their sixteen year old son, Logan. Lorraine also has another child, a son with ex-boyfriend, Robert. However, Robert is not involved in his son’s life at all. So life definitely hasn’t been easy for Lorraine lately, and unfortunately things are about to get a whole lot worse.

Due to her health issues, and the fact that Sam is still a baby, Lorraine hires an Au pair from London named Lexy to help take care of Sam. At first, Lorraine thinks Lexy is a godsend. She helps out with the baby, Sam and even helps out with Lorraine’s other son, Logan. However, becoming an Au pair isn’t the only reason she came to Seattle. Lexy has secrets…many secrets.

Ella arrives in Seattle and has many questions for her sister. But Lorraine doesn’t seem to be able to give Ella the answers she needs. When she does tell Ella something, she often changes her story later.

Now two people have gone missing, and the investigation is sure to bring some if not all of these secrets to light. Some of the people involved will stop at nothing to keep that from happening. Everyone has a lot to lose if their secrets come out.

I thought that “Give It Back” was quite an interesting book. The plot was compelling and I enjoyed the many twists and turns throughout the book. The point of view alternated between the three main characters. The dated chapters helped with keeping track. However, I did have to pay close attention to the time-frames. I found that I had to flip back and forth a bit as I wasn’t always sure who was speaking and if it was the past or present. But for the most part it didn’t interfere with my overall enjoyment of the book.

Now I’m not entirely sure how I feel about the ending. I’m not sure if I completely understand it….and maybe the author wanted it that way. Or maybe there is a book two that will answer some of the questions I have? I guess I will just have to wait and see!

“Give it Back” is a very good psychological suspense novel. A debut novel with a strong plot line and well-developed characters. I look forward to reading more from this author.

Thank you, Danielle Esplin for sending me this book in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review – Give it Back

  1. Congrats to getting direct contact from authors! That’s the great thing about blogging. The book sounds interesting. I’m sold on secrets people stop at nothing to keep from being exposed 😊 Excellent review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

