Review – I Let You Go

I Let You GoI Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

First Published November 9, 2014

Sphere

 

https://s.yimg.com/uu/api/res/1.2/YNS6Z86xWisQwj1CbhulLw--/aD0xMjAwO3c9Nzk1O3NtPTE7YXBwaWQ9eXRhY2h5b24-/http://media.zenfs.com/en_us/News/ap_webfeeds/c946d91fa50ff016970f6a706700dede.jpg

Published (re-released) May 3, 2016
Berkley

5 out of 5 stars!!

WOW!

I just finished this book about 10 minutes ago and I’m very impressed. I’m also very tired as it’s now after 5am! I will be so very tired today but it is totally worth it!!

I have so many good books that I want to read right now. I keep adding to my collection faster than I’m reading. I’ve gotten into a bad habit of reading a couple of pages of new books and forgetting which one I wanted to read next. Because of that this novel had been forgotten about until today. When I picked it up again today I did find it a little bit hard to get into at first but once I was a little ways in I was hooked!

Jenna the main character is desperate to escape from her past after a tragic hit-and-run accident destroys her life. Feeling lost she finds her way to a small Welsh community where she attempts to pick up the pieces and start anew. She is haunted by her fear and grief. Memories pulling her back and forcing her to face things that cannot be ignored. Investigator Ray Stevens and his team work hard to seek justice for a mother who is living every parent’s worst nightmare.

This psychological thriller had me captivated and I really was unable to put it down until I finished it. An emotional plot with a huge twist that snuck right up on me making my heart jump into my throat. Completely changed the dynamic of the story and then another twist that I never expected. Many great characters that are very well-developed. Jenna is haunting and felt very authentic as did many of the characters. This novel clearly shows how in one moment an unexpected tragedy can occur leaving many people devastated.

I think I’ll stop there as I don’t want to give anything away. This was such a great debut novel and I’m excited to read more from Clare Mackintosh!!

Highly recommended!!!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review – I Let You Go

Leave a Reply

