Review – The Other Sister

The Other SisterThe Other Sister by Dianne Dixon

Published November 1, 2016

Sourcebooks Landmark

 

 

 

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the first book I’ve read from Dianne Dixon. I was really intrigued after reading the book description.

Morgan and Ali are fraternal twins. These sisters have a bizarre obsessive type love/hate relationship. Morgan has always felt that Ali has had everything handed to her while she gets the scraps that are left over. At the same time, Ali feels like Morgan has always been there breathing down her neck never letting her have a life of her own.

Ali has the personality Morgan wishes she had, the ease of making friends while Morgan feels awkward making conversation with people. Ali gets the men Morgan wants, the attention Morgan wants. Everything Ali has ….Morgan wants. Morgan even feels that their mother loves Ali more than she loves her.

Sometimes Morgan wonders if life would be better without Ali in it….

The book opens in Newport, Rhode Island. The sisters are twenty-seven and attending a lavish wedding. Ali is the maid of honor and Morgan is a last-minute fill in bridesmaid. We are given first glimpse into the current state of the sisters relationship as the bouquet is tossed. Morgan wants to catch the bouquet but just as it seems like she’s going to catch it, it instead falls into her sisters outstretched hand…

“the poisonous look that went from Morgan to Ali was a disturbing glimpse into the darkness that can cling to the underside of love”

No one could know that the random events that occurred that night after the wedding would lead to violence and heartbreak in the years that followed.

Morgan thinks Ali’s life is and always has been perfect and assumes happiness is all Ali ever experiences. Morgan feels like she is the only one who’s ever felt pain and unhappiness. But she really has no idea what Ali’s been through.

From the time they were little, Morgan’s jealousy caused her to do things that negatively affected Ali’s life. She continues to do these things even as they get older….she thinks it’s a way for Ali to pay some dues. She doesn’t realize that some of the things she does will end up affecting Ali in ways Morgan couldn’t have imagined.

There was a LOT going on in this book and at times it had my head spinning. It just seemed like everything was moving so fast. Before I had the chance to catch my breath we were on to something new. It felt like some important things were left unexplained. I love a good twist and this book did have some good ones but there was so many of them.

There were quite a few characters in this book. At times it was hard to remember who did what. There were some well-developed beautiful characters (Ava and Sofie were two of my favorites), but I felt like I barely knew some of the other characters, including ones that were major players in the story.

So why didn’t I stop reading? I’m not sure. I considered it. However, even with the things I just mentioned, I was still intrigued! I had to know how and where this was going to end.

Told from alternating points of view, the story had many themes. Family, Grief, blame, trauma, guilt, love, hate, and forgiveness.

I have to say that I did like how things came together in the end. Even if I had to suspend belief that things could happen they way they did. But there really was some great writing in this book. Lots of things that resonated with me.

“It’s not enough to sit back and rejoice when we receive our miracles. We need to look for opportunities to pass the bounty along. It’s the only decent way to live”.

I am still curious about this author and I am interested in reading more of her work. There’s no doubt that Dianne Dixon is a talented writer.

Thank you NetGalley, Sourcebooks Landmark, and Dianne Dixon for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

