Review – No Ordinary Life

No Ordinary LifeNo Ordinary Life by Suzanne Redfearn

Published February 2, 2016

Grand Central Publishing

 

 

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

No Ordinary Life is Suzanne Redfearn’s second novel. I read her first book Hush Little Baby a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. So I was very excited to read her newest novel!

This was such a great book. I had high hopes and they were surpassed.

After Faye Martin’s husband, Sean leaves on a road trip and doesn’t come back, Faye quickly realizes it’s up to her to support herself and her three children. She makes the decision to move her family in with her mother to try to get them back on their feet. It’s only after a trip to the mall to look for a job that things start to turn around, but in a very unexpected way.

A video uploaded on YouTube showing Faye’s daughter, four-year-old Molly in all her cuteness, goes viral which leads to Molly being offered a starring role on a hit TV show. Is this the answer to all of their problems? But Faye has three children. All with different needs. Can she be the mother she needs to be to all of them? While managing the new career of her youngest child?

And along with all of the fame, the new cars, the money, the clothing, comes hard decisions and dangers of all kinds. Who can Faye trust? More importantly can she trust herself? If it all becomes too much can she make the right decisions to save her family?

I used to wonder if I could survive in Hollywood….or if my child could. Not often but occasionally when I would see an especially cute or funny child on TV I’d wonder if my child could do it. I admit I am a helicopter parent. I’m a bit over protective but I try to balance it out. Hope that she’ll be protected but still able to grow and flourish. I just can’t imagine how that happens in Hollywood!

We all think we know what we would do in certain instances. How we will raise our children. What we would do if this or that happened. It’s so easy to say how we will react…but you just don’t know sometimes.

This book really made me think…

How can you always trust an agent to have yours or your child’s best interests at heart? What if I felt like a line or scene was inappropriate for my young child or if a situation was dangerous. Would I be able to stand up against a producers demands? I think I would but when you’re in that position it can be a different story sometimes.

We’ve all seen the tragic stories of child stars…drugs, sex, money, and all kinds of addictive behavior. How do you avoid that? How do you stay grounded when your ego is being fed by so many people….

When I hear of actors who talk about being hounded, followed etc. I’ve occasionally thought “oh poor them, they’re so famous and rich and all they have to do is pose for a few pictures and sign some autographs”.  But everyone should be afforded some privacy. Especially a child…. Do they really know what they are getting into? No not really…it’s fun, exciting but they have to trust the adults around them to make the right choices.

It’s scary! Even little kids can have admirers that at first seem harmless enough but can be extremely dangerous stalkers. Honestly I am paranoid as it is, I can’t even imagine being in a crowd that could suddenly go wild and security can’t control them. People losing their minds just to catch a glimpse of someone they consider a friend or more.

“Childhood is a fleeting blink, a momentary bridge of time that shapes who you are and your life to come. It’s incredibly precious and brief, and you can’t get it back.”

This was an excellent book from start to finish. My emotions were in overdrive. I felt so much for Faye, for Molly, and the rest of the family. The characters are unforgettable. I could just picture Molly with her mop of blond curls and the cute way she talked in rhyme. Not all of the time but just enough that I found it adorable. I was occasionally angered by the actions of certain people and as it happens when I’m very involved with a book I start yelling at characters and talking to myself.

Suzanne Redfearn has incredible insight and obviously did her research as I found the book not only riveting but very realistic. Faye wasn’t a perfect mother but that made her even more real. I felt that all the things that were happening potentially could happen in real life. Which in some cases was terrifying. I learned some things about the laws around child acting (and how they often skirt around it). I also learned a lot about how the money is handled and how easily it can be mishandled. Interesting information that made the book even more interesting to read.

I really enjoyed this book and I highly recommend it!

I really want to thank NetGalley, Grand Central Publishing, and especially Suzanne Redfearn for providing me with a free copy of this novel to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review – No Ordinary Life

Leave a Reply

