Review : The Girl You Lost

The Girl You LostThe Girl You Lost by Kathryn Croft

Published February 5, 2016

Bookouture

 

 

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the first book by Kathryn Croft that I’ve read. I’ve heard many good things about her previous books. When I read the description for “The Girl You Lost” I was intrigued to say the least.

As the book begins we are taken back eighteen years. Simone and Matt are a young couple adjusting to life as new parents in their tiny apartment. Matt is twenty-two and studying to be a doctor and for now nineteen-year-old Simone has put school on hold to raise their six-month old daughter, Helena. They are lucky though that Matt’s mother, Miriam is around to help out. She frequently takes Helena out to give the young couple a bit of a break.

Matt’s mother comes to take Helena to the park one afternoon so Matt can study. The tired parents are happy to have a few moments to themselves. Just as they say how happy they are, how great everything is, the phone rings and their world is forever changed..

Helena is missing.

The book then jumps to the present. Simone Porter is now a successful journalist and is married to Matt, who is now a doctor. Their daughter, Helena has been missing for eighteen years and they are no closer to finding her then they were before. That is until one day. Simone is approached by a young woman named Grace. Grace tells her she needs to talk to her about her missing daughter. Simone is hesitant as she’s been fooled before by people who claim to have information about Helena. But she decides to hear what the young woman has to say.

What Grace says gives Simone hope for the first time in years. But can she trust this woman? When Grace also goes missing Simone will do anything to find her and find out if what she says is true. However, she becomes involved with people who will do anything to keep her from finding out the truth.

I was pulled into the story very quickly. The book was narrated by Simone for the most part. But there were also chapters throughout the book from an unknown persons point of view. This person has hideous secrets and has carried out horrific acts. They tell us that are part of a group who enjoyed carrying out these truly evil deeds. (Some of these deeds can be hard to read about and could possibly be triggering for some people).

“I need to start somewhere near the beginning, to help you understand, don’t I? Not that you ever truly will because what would that make you if you did?”

There were multiple story-lines and I felt they were interesting and all fit together very well. I was positive I knew what was going on one minute and then something would change my mind. It really did keep me guessing. There were many twists and turns until the final big twist that I honestly did not see coming.

“How is it that someone capable of such atrocities, can still have love in their hearts?”

An excellent psychological thriller. I thought it was well written with an exciting story and great character development.

I will definitely be reading more from Kathryn Croft.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

13 thoughts on “Review : The Girl You Lost

  1. Awesome review! I enjoyed reading her other novel While You Were Sleeping last month, so I will definitely try to get a copy of this one at some point. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

