Review : Only Daughter

Only DaughterOnly Daughter by Anna Snoekstra

Published September 20, 2016

MIRA

 

 

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

ONLY DAUGHTER is the debut psychological thriller by Anna Snoekstra.

A young woman steps out of her own troubled life and into the life of a woman who has been missing for the past eleven years.

I am having a bit of a hard time rating this book. I read it in just a few sittings, but I’m not sure how much of that was because I was enjoying it or because I wanted to get to the end. I didn’t feel like I wanted to throw in the towel on this one but there were a few things that really affected my enjoyment of the book.

The premise of the book really intrigued me. A young woman on the run is arrested for shoplifting. Terrified of going to jail she tries everything she can to gain sympathy. She recalls a conversation she had with an old boyfriend while watching the news. Her boyfriend was marvelling at how much she looked like the girl from the news story that was on. The story was about Rebecca Winters, a girl who had been missing since 2003. Feeling like she has no other options she tells the officers….

“My name is Rebecca Winter. Eleven years ago I was abducted.”

Suddenly everything changes. She meets the detective who has been in charge of trying to find her. She senses he feels a lot of guilt about not finding her (Rebecca) all these years, and she uses that guilt to her advantage.

She tells him she just wants to go home. She’s “reunited” with the father, the mother and twin brothers. Though everyone seems happy she’s home, something about the family doesn’t seem right. She’s not sure what it is but things feel very strange. She also wonders if she could also be in danger from the person or persons that abducted the real Rebecca.

The story is told from both Rebecca’s perspectives, and alternates back and forth from 2003 and 2014.

I found the book interesting but I felt like it took me quite awhile to get into it. There were some good twists and turns but it didn’t always flow well. Things that didn’t seem relative to the story caused me some confusion. I felt there were many questions left unanswered. Also, I’m fine with things being a bit implausible at times as it is a fiction book, but some things felt a bit too unreal.

The story did start to pick up quite a bit but I was already about two-thirds done. However, I HAD to know what was going to happen.

In the end it all came together and I got what was happening but it felt like I spent much of the book in the dark and kind of confused.

******Warning******
I had a hard time with the animal cruelty in the book. I know the author was trying to make point about psychopathic behavior etc, but I feel like there were too many instances of it and there was way too much detail. I felt ill after reading some parts.

Thank you to NetGalley, the publisher and Anna Snoekstra for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

9 thoughts on “Review : Only Daughter

Leave a Reply

