Review: The Woman in Cabin 10

The Woman in Cabin 10The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

Published July 19, 2016

Gallery/Scout Press

 

 

My rating: 3.5 stars

This is my first book by Ruth Ware. I have always wanted to take a luxury cruise and so the plot of this book intrigued me.

I was actually going to read Dark Dark Wood prior to reading this novel. However, since I won a copy of this book from a Goodreads Giveaway, so I figured I could always go back and read Dark Dark Wood some other time.

Journalist, Laura (Lo) Blacklock is a writer for a travel magazine. Lo suffers from anxiety and after a terrifying home invasion she doesn’t feel safe anywhere anymore. Maybe her new work assignment will help. It is a free week-long trip on a luxury cruise. This assignment could also help with the promotion she’s been wanting.

The Aurora is a beautiful brand new boat. Luxurious but small and intimate with only ten cabins.

But the assignment of a lifetime soon turns into a nightmare when Lo is positive she sees a woman from the cabin next door thrown off the boat. But that can’t have happened as all passengers on the boat are accounted for….

Lo is insistent and knows that she didn’t imagine the woman she spoke to, the woman even gave her a tube of mascara. So where is she now? Where is the woman from cabin 10?

No one seems to take her concerns seriously.

Did she have too much to drink? Is she losing her mind?

I did have a bit of trouble getting into the book at first. I’m not entirely sure why but I found my mind wandering. However, once I got into it, I had a hard time putting it down. I had a few minor issues with the plot and a hard time with Lo’s character at first ….but she grew on me.

Honestly, the suspense was good and I had no idea what was going to happen next but I definitely wanted to find out.

All in all this was a creepy (in a good way) and entertaining read, and I look forward to reading more from this author.

I would like to thank Goodreads Giveaways for my copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Woman in Cabin 10

Leave a Reply

