Review – The Wonder

The WonderThe Wonder by Emma Donoghue

Published September 20, 2016

Little, Brown and Company

 

 

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve only read one other book by Emma Donoghue but I loved it. “Room” is one of my favorite books. Because I enjoyed it so much I was worried that anything else I read from the author would pale in comparison. However, after reading the description for “The Wonder” I was very intrigued.

Eleven-year-old Anna O’Donnell has become somewhat of a tourist attraction. A miracle girl who has apparently survived for four months without eating any food and who according to the local doctor is otherwise healthy.

Libby Wright is an English nurse hired to keep watch over Anna for two weeks, alongside another nurse who happens to be a Nun.

Libby as well as many others believe what’s happening to be a hoax. Someone must be feeding this child. How could she possibly survive on just spoonfuls of water? Others believe Anna truly is a miracle girl.

It’s not long before Lib becomes very attached to Anna. Will she figure out what’s going on? Can she save Anna?

I really enjoyed this book. I was pulled into the story very quickly and hated when I had to put it down. I love the way Emma Donoghue writes. An amazing and unique plot with such great characters. I was desperate to find out what was going on and was extremely satisfied with how it all came together in the end.

I can’t wait to read more from this wonderful and talented author.

Thank you NetGalley, Brown and Company, and Emma Donoghue for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

8 thoughts on “Review – The Wonder

  1. Sounds interesting. I loved Room to but then was disappointed with Frog Music so it’s 50/50 with the author for me. Your review makes me think I will give her another go though.

    Like

  2. I loved Room, then did not like Frog Music at all! But, Emme Donoghue had another winner for me with The Wonder! Glad you liked it, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

