Review : How Will I Know You

How Will I Know You?How Will I Know You? by Jessica Treadway

Published December 6, 2016

Grand Central Publishing

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

This is my first novel from Jessica Treadway. I’ve had “Lacy Eye” on my list for quite some time but for some reason I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. However, after enjoying this novel, I am excited to get my hands on her previous books as soon as possible.

When sixteen year old Joy Enright’s body is found in the woods, it’s not long before an arrest is made. Martin Willett is a black graduate student at the local art college and is accused of killing Joy. Susanne Enright, Joy’s mother is a professor at the same school and Martin is her teaching assistant.

The book begins after Joy’s body is found. We are introduced to Harper Grove. Harper was Joy’s best friend and the police are there to ask her some questions about what happened the last time she was with Joy. She’s nervous as she wants to please the police by saying the right thing…but she’s also holding something back. The police are eager to close this case. Especially Police Chief Doug Armstrong.

Tom owns “The Shack” a store near the pond where the kids hangout. He’s also a rescue diver and the son-in-law of the police chief, Doug Armstrong. Tom’s wife, Alison was one of Joy’s teachers. Alison is a bit of a daddy’s girl which causes some strain in their relationship as Tom already feels like Doug doesn’t respect him.

Next is the man accused of killing Joy. Martin Willett is sitting in jail having just been arrested. He seems to be in shock. We learn more about his life and some of his interactions with other characters in the book.

Who could have done such a horrible thing. Who killed Joy Enright? Was it Martin Willett? Or was is someone else? A stranger? Other strange things had been happening in town…could those things have anything to do with her murder?

At first I had a hard time getting a good grasp on what was happening or had happened. It was a bit confusing as it’s broken into parts (before and after). It’s also told from the four different points of view….. Suzanne Enright. Martin Willett, Harper Grove, and Tom Carbone.

It wasn’t always clear whose point of view I was reading. It didn’t take a long time to figure out but it slowed me down a bit at first. At the same time it was really interesting hearing the different perspectives.

Definitely a character driven novel, but I found them all interesting. I think the author did a great job developing each of the characters, their relationships, and how they related to each other. Whether it was mother and daughter, teenagers, husband and wife etc. I felt like I was in their heads as the investigation unfolded. What their motivations were for doing what they did. I felt for the most part that things rang true although there were a couple of times that I wondered how something could possibly have gone that way.

This was a great psychological suspense book that I read in just a few sittings. I will definitely be reading more from Jessica Treadway.

Thank you NetGalley, Grand Central Publishing, and Jessica Treadway for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Review : How Will I Know You

Leave a Reply

