Review : Kill the Next One

Kill the Next OneKill the Next One by Federico Axat

Published December 13,  2016

 

Mulholland Books

 

 

My rating: 3.5 Stars

When I read the description of this book I thought the plot sounded really interesting. In the blurb it says that nothing is what it seems…. and they weren’t kidding! My head was spinning right from the first sentence.

“Ted McKay was about to put a bullet through his brain when the doorbell rang, insistently.”

He waits because he knows he can’t shoot himself while someone is at the door. Then he hears someone yelling for him to open the door. They tell him they know he’s in there. He waits for them to leave. However, the person keeps ringing the bell, banging and yelling for Ted to open the door.

Thankfully his wife and children are out-of-town.

As he’s waiting for the person to go away he notices a note on his desk. “Open the door. It’s your only way out” the note says. He has no idea where this note came from but the thing that freaks him out is that it’s his handwriting on the note. How could that be? He has no memory of writing it. Ted gives in and opens the door. The man introduces himself. His name is Justin Lynch and he tells Ted he’ll explain everything if he will let him come in. Ted slams the door but then the man says something that makes him open it right back up…

“I know what you’re about to do”

How could this man possibly know what Ted was about to do?

Justin says he knows that Ted wants to kill himself. Before Ted can say a word, Justin tells him he has a proposition for him. He’s inviting him to join a very special organization. A sort of suicide club. However, in order to be a part of this group Ted will need to kill two men. Then in return someone will kill him. The reasoning behind this is that it’s easier for a family to deal with someone being the victim of a tragedy than if the person committed suicide.

But why two murders? And how did they find out that Ted even wanted to kill himself?

Ted decides that he’ll do it. However, things do not go as planned. The intended victims aren’t exactly like Justin described. Then weird things start happening. Ted begins having bizarre dreams. He feels like he’s being watched and that he wasn’t given all the information he would have needed to make a proper decision. Was that on purpose? Is Ted being manipulated somehow? From there, things get even worse and he starts to feel like he’s losing his mind.

Dr. Laura Hill is Ted’s therapist and she feels like she can help him. Through his meetings with Dr. Hill we are given some insight into Ted’s past, his family life and some, very dark secrets.

I will stop there as I will be heading into spoiler territory if I say much more

After such a fantastic beginning I did feel the book start to drag a bit. It was interesting, but it felt like there was a lot of details and extra stuff that could have been left out. Also seemed like there were some holes in the plot which made things a bit confusing.

I enjoyed the book but it was completely different from what I was expecting, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. There were a lot of good twists and turns that kept me turning pages. Just when I thought I had the real story it would take off in another direction. I would just start to understand a character and their motives….but then I’d be thrown way off again.

I was pretty satisfied with how it all came together and how the author wrapped things up….but the epilogue did baffle me a bit. I may have to check around because I’m curious about what happened. I almost feel like I’m missing something big.

****Note**** There wasn’t a lot of gruesome violence in this book but I will warn readers that there is a scene with an animal that is upsetting. I was able to skip over it but I thought it was worth a mention.

Thank you NetGalley, Mulholland Books, and Frederico Axat for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review : Kill the Next One

  1. Pity it didn’t totally work for you because the beginning sounds great. So many books get lost in the middle though – I suppose that’s something authors learn to do better with experience. Thanks for the animal scene warning – much appreciated by this squeamish reader! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

