Review – Beautiful Broken Girls

Beautiful Broken GirlsBeautiful Broken Girls

by Kim Savage

Published February 21, 2017

Farrar, Straus and Giroux

 

3.5 stars

I was really intrigued after reading the description for Beautiful Broke Girls. This was my first book by Kim Savage, though I had been wanting to read “After the Woods” for quite some time.

The story beings in August 2016. One night Mira and Francesca Cillo rode their bikes, then walked for about 15 minutes in the darkness to the quarry.

Not long after that their bodies are pulled from the quarry.

The death of the sisters hit everyone hard. Especially since there was the senseless death of another teen not long before this tragedy. Mira and Francesca’s neighbor, Ben was taking it especially hard as he was in love with Mira.

Was it suicide? Did they fall? Or was it something else?

Then a few days after their bodies are found he receives a note. It is from Mira. This first note sends Ben on a hunt for seven more notes that will apparently explain what happened. Each note represented a part of Mira’s body that Ben had touched palm, hair, chest…The story is broken down into each of these seven parts.

“Everyone wanted to touch us. Including you. So remember the seven places you touched me. It’s where you’ll find the truth. Start at the beginning “

With each note Ben discovers more and more about the sisters and their strange lives. He finds himself with more questions than answers.

“Everything is in God’s plan”

I liked Ben’s character and the story-line was interesting, though I ached for him and what he’d been through. There were not many likeable characters in this novel. I was really into this book at first but then I started to feel a bit overwhelmed. Honestly, it was very different from what I was expecting after reading the description. There was a lot going on and it could be a bit hard to follow at times. Magic realism, religion, and saints. It’s kind hard to explain as I don’t want to give anything away.

The novel has some dark subject matter and I felt some things were romanticized, things that in my opinion shouldn’t be. But at no point did I want to stop reading, I was invested in the story. I did enjoy this novel, just not as much as I was expecting. Though some things may not have worked for me, they may not bother other readers.

I do look forward to reading more from Kim Savage, as she is definitely a talented writer.

Thank you to NetGalley, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, and Kim Savage for an advanced copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review – Beautiful Broken Girls

  1. This does sound intriguing and different, the hunt for seven notes. I guess it reveals how much of a gentleman Ben is too. Speaking as a father what would I find acceptable… A hand, cheek, knee, lips, mommas front porch (this is not a euphamism), shoulder and head.
    I digress. Thanks Dee, another top review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

