Review – The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie LovettThe Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

Published January 3, 2017

Sourcebooks

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When she first hears the news that local girl, Lizzie Lovett is missing, Seventeen-year-old Hawthorn (Thorny) Creely doesn’t really pay it much attention. To be honest she doesn’t really care. She’s not trying to be cold, she’s just pretty sure it isn’t true. Hawthorn is positive that bad things don’t happen to girls like Lizzie Lovett.

But she’s wrong…

When she realizes that Lizzie is in fact missing, something changes in Hawthorn. She goes from not caring and ends up becoming obsessed with uncovering the truth behind Lizzie’s disappearance. She immerses herself in everything Lizzie. She gets a job at the restaurant Lizzie worked at and even starts hanging out with Lizzie’s boyfriend. No one understands why she’s doing this, and I don’t think she’s really sure herself. But something about Lizzie’s disappearance becomes personal for her.

Hawthorn doesn’t have a lot of friends and has dubbed herself unlovable. Her older brother, Rush had a lot of friends and loved high school. Hawthorn prefers to be by herself a lot of the time….at least that’s what she says. She does have one close friend in Emily. Although even Emily seems to have a hard time with Hawthorne’s personality sometimes.

There are many theories going around about Lizzie’s disappearance. Hawthorn has some of her own VERY bizarre theories. She even manages to get Lizzie’s boyfriend, twenty-five year old, Enzo Calvetti to help her with her searches. But should she be hanging around Enzo? (I was a bit surprised that her parents were okay with her hanging out with him. Because of the age difference and the fact that he was the last person to see Lizzie alive).

Hawthorn is a very unique character. She can be annoying but she’s also witty with a wild imagination and some of the best one-liners ever. She speaks her mind, often without thinking it through. “The words had come out of my mouth without getting permission from my brain”. Her inner dialogue was hilarious. When someone upsets her she remembers what her mother told her about not wishing for things that you really didn’t want to happen (like wishing someone dead). So her “curses” were never horrible but they were ALWAYS hilarious!


“I wished someone would replace Mychelle’s fancy shampoo with a drugstore brand. I wished she would suddenly forget the name of her five favorite songs. I wished every time she microwaved a frozen burrito, the center would stay cold. I wished her mascara would dry out after she’d only done one eye”.

I enjoyed many of the supporting characters too. Sundog with his caravan that lived in tents on the front lawn along with their dog, Timothy Leary. I loved her brother, Rush and his best friend, Connor.


“So why are you sitting here like the rest of The Breakfast Club went out partying and forgot to take you along?”

As Hawthorn continues her search for the truth about what happened to Lizzie, she may end up finding her own truth as well….

There are quite a few themes covered in this book, mental health issues, bullying, loneliness, self-esteem, obsession, relationships, among others.

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett was a quick and easy YA read. The characters were unique and original and they all added something to the story. I did find it was quite different from what I expected after reading the book blurb. There were also a few parts of the plot that seemed to come out of left field. But while it wasn’t quite what I was expecting I still found it entertaining.

I enjoyed this book and I look forward to reading more from Chelsea Sedoti.

Thank you NetGalley, Sourcebooks Fire, and Chelsea Sedoti for providing an advanced copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review – The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

  1. I love The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett and I love Hawthorne as a main character she is so quirky and sweet and everything she said in the book put a smile on my face plus I love her interactions with her moms hippie friends especially towards when they left! I’m glad you enjoyed this too! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

