Throwback Thursday – The Kindness of Strangers by Katrina Kittle

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is: The Kindness of Strangers by Katrina Kittle

The Kindness of Strangers

I read “The Kindness of Strangers”  about 8 years ago and it has stayed with me ever since.  It is definitely one of the most difficult books I have ever read, but it is also one of my favorites.

It’s the book that comes to mind whenever someone asks for a recommendation.

The Kindness of Strangers introduced me to author, Katrina Kittle and I’ve since read every novel she has written. She is one of my favorite writers and I’m always looking forward to her next book.

This book deals with the topic of Child Abuse, specifically child sexual abuse.  Although the subject is extremely difficult to read about, the author shows how the kindness, love, and compassion of ordinary people can help with healing and forgiveness.

Sarah Laden is a widow and lives with her two sons, Danny and Nate. She has her own catering business which is doing extremely well. She is very close with best friend, Courtney who helped her survive a very painful time in her life.  But the day comes when Sarah realizes she never truly knew her best friend at all.

This book took me a little while to read. This is only because at times I felt so overcome with emotion that I had to take a break.  But it had me had in its grips and it wasn’t long before I picked it up again.  If I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about it. I went through so many different emotions while reading. Sometimes it was sadness and other times it was almost a blinding fury at the heinous characters and their actions. However, there were also times that my heart was filled by the love and understanding that was shown by some of the other characters. The characters were so well written and vivid to me. I felt like I knew them personally. The rotating points of view were easy to follow and I liked hearing the different perspectives.

Katrina Kittle writes about such a painful topic realistically and with sensitivity.  The Kindness of Strangers is a compelling novel of survival and the healing power of love.

View all my reviews

10 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – The Kindness of Strangers by Katrina Kittle

Leave a Reply

