Review – My Husband the Stranger by Rebecca Done

My Husband the StrangerMy Husband the Stranger by Rebecca Done

Published April 6, 2017
Penguin

 

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I read the description for this book it hit close to home. My ex-husband was in a severe car accident while we were first dating in 1995 and suffered a head injury. This changed everything for him and although he was nothing like Alex there were some similarities. Especially right after the accident. His head was still swollen to about twice the size and he wasn’t acting like himself. He would get angry very quickly and had trouble with his memory. I remember thinking (I was 19) what if he stays like this? It was scary. We were told that once the swelling went down he should get back to normal. For the most part it did. That’s not to say there wasn’t lasting effects. Anyhow, this is a book review and not my life story so I’ll leave it at that.

I was very intrigued and excited to get reading.

In one moment EVERYTHING can change….

What you would do if your husband became another person overnight?

Molly and Alex seem like the perfect couple. Very in love, busy planning their future together. But after a terrible fall her husband sustains a severe head injury. This injury changes him into someone Molly has a hard time recognizing.

Told from Molly’s perspective in the present and Alex’s perspective prior to his accident. I like how it was written. It added insight into their early relationship and helped us get to know Alex – before.

***Possibly very minor spoilers****

For the next few years, Molly struggles to keep things together. Alex is distant, gets very angry, and has problems with his memory. On top of taking care of Alex. Molly is trying to hold on to a job she hates but desperately needs. She’s exhausted all of the time. Every morning she wakes up hoping it will be the day that Alex turns back into the man she fell madly in love with.

But everything may not be exactly what it seems….

This book was well-written and I was intrigued to see where it was going to go. I was pretty sure I had everything figured out and although I was partially correct, there were a few things I didn’t see coming.

It was quite emotional at times. I really felt for everyone involved. But I could relate to Molly as this person was not the man she married. But glimpses of the man she once knew kept her hopeful. The guilt at her feelings and at the same time wanting to care for him. This definitely relates to the vow “in sickness and in health”.

We may think we know what we would do in the same position, but like anything else until it happens to you….you just don’t know.

I enjoyed this novel. I will definitely be looking for more of Rebecca Done.

Thank you NetGalley, Rebecca Done, and Penguin UK Michael Joseph, for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

7 thoughts on “Review – My Husband the Stranger by Rebecca Done

  1. This sounds very interesting​, I too have a husband who has had a severe head injury and has lasting brain damage as a result, I met him afterwards though so slightly different as I went in knowing all the quirks of his injury. It must be very difficult dealing with that sudden change, I will keep an eye out for this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting. It was quite interesting for me to read this book. Although I wasn’t married when it happened we married five years later. There was definitely a lot of improvement but they say the biggest improvements are made in the first two years. I think you might find this book really interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

