Review – I Found You by Lisa Jewell

I Found YouI Found You by Lisa Jewell

Published: April 25, 2017

Atria Books


5 Stars !!

Wow!! This is a fantastic psychological suspense novel.

Two decades of secrets.

A young bride with a missing husband. A lonely single mother and a man with no memory of who he is or where he came from. You may think you have it all figured out…but the truth may surprise you.

I was definitely surprised.

In the British Seaside…

Alice lives in a tiny house with her children and the stray animals that she’s picked up over the years. Alice has a thing for strays…and now a stray man is sitting on a bench near her home. Part of her wants to know why he’s just sitting there in the rain. As the day goes by she sees he’s still there, still getting drenched by the rain. She knows she should probably stay out of it. Alice has had trouble in the past with some of the decisions she’s made. But the more time that passes the more she wants to know why he’s there. What is his story?

After speaking with him she finds out that he has no idea of who he is, where he is from, or how he got to there. He has no wallet, identification, or any other possessions. He doesn’t even have a jacket to keep him dry.

‘How long have you been sitting out here?’

‘I got here yesterday.’

‘Where did you come from?’

‘I have no idea.’

Alice invites him in…


Meanwhile in a London suburb…

Newly married and new to the country, twenty-one year old Lily Monrose is anxiously waiting for her husband to arrive home from work. As dinner gets cold, Lily wonders where on earth her he could be. She finally decides to call the police but they tell her she needs to wait, that he hasn’t been gone that long. But he’s never late. She can usually predict to the minute the moment he will walk in the door. When she finally gets the police to take her seriously they tell her something that shocks her to her core…

Her husband doesn’t exist.


Twenty-three years before….

Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on their annual summer vacation with their parents when they meet a young man who starts to show an interest in Kirsty. Kirsty is young and her brother Gray feels something is off about this guy. He can’t quite put his finger on it but something about him makes Gray uncomfortable. However, his sister likes this young man and even their parents think Gray is overreacting.

Is Gray being too over-protective of his sister?

So many secrets….

I really enjoyed this book!

Lisa Jewell does a fantastic job of developing unforgettable characters….whether they had two legs or four legs. The animals were almost as entertaining as the humans. All so well written! I loved the personalities of the humans and the dogs.

I’m always impressed when an author can pull me so far into a story…I was fully invested in this novel and these characters, whether I loved or hated them, they all felt quite believable.

Although there were a few violent scenes, I didn’t feel like the author went overboard in her descriptions of the acts but still gave enough detail to make me hold my breath in anticipation of what was going to happen next.

Drawn in from the first page, this was a very enjoyable story with unique and intriguing characters, and a great plot. I loved it!

This may have been my first Lisa Jewell read but you can bet it won’t be my last.

Thank you NetGalley, Atria Books, and Lisa Jewell for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

12 thoughts on “Review – I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Leave a Reply

