Throwback Thursday: Reasons to be Happy by Katrina Kittle

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is :Katrina Kittle – Reasons to be Happy

https://i1.wp.com/katrinakittle.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/ReasonsToBeHappy-comp31.jpg

This is the third book from this author that I’ve picked for Throwback Thursday.

One of my ‘Reasons to Be Happy’ is that I have read this book. I read it and then passed it on to my daughter. This is a fantastic book by one of my favorite authors. I wish I could convey all the appreciation I have for the time that Katrina Kittle takes when researching and writing her books. There are times while reading her books that I have felt like she has read my mind.

This is an emotional read that deals with many important issues. Bulimia, addiction, disease, death, sexual pressures, bullying and more. I have had personal experience with some of the subject matter and thought I was fairly well-educated in regards to these issues. However, I feel like this book exposed me to things I may not have thought about otherwise. I loved the fact that the book showed how healing can take place anywhere. Even on the other side of the world.

The main character, Hannah is struggling. Her mother has cancer and her father is an alcoholic. She also battles with her own issues of low self-esteem etc. Some parts of the book may be hard to read but I feel the author serves us well by showing the true picture of topics like bulimia and addiction, as well as many other important issues.

Although this book was written for a Young Adult audience, I highly recommend it for everyone. Hannah’s struggles will resonate with many readers. Also helpful to anyone who knows someone suffering from any of these issues. Helps for better understanding.

Beautifully written, filled with inspiration and insight.

I have and will continue to read anything Katrina Kittle has written. I have read all of her books and loved them all.  They have stayed with me long after the last page.

I look forward to her next novel.

6 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Reasons to be Happy by Katrina Kittle

    • I hope you check out her books! She really loves animals, and her books have wonderful animal characters too. Definitely some similarities between her and Jodi Picoult who is another of my favourite authors. They both write about tough issues.
      I think this is her only one that was originally geared towards young adults. Although I do believe that many adults would enjoy this book too.
      Happy reading 📖

      Liked by 1 person

      • So I was going to put this book on my Amazon Wish List, only come to find out I already purchased this! But of course, have not read it yet (I have TONS of unread books in my Kindle, which is normal for any book worm I think! hehe!). So, I will search for it when I finish one of mine that I’m currently reading. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

