Throwback Thursday – Take Me with You by Catherine Ryan Hyde

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is : Take Me with You
by Catherine Ryan Hyde

https://i1.wp.com/www.christianbookaholic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Take.jpg

Fantastic Book!!

I am very surprised that I didn’t find this author long ago. I did see the movie “Pay it Forward” based on her book by the same name years ago and loved it. When I came across this book and read the description, I thought it sounded pretty good. However, it more than exceeded my expectations. I devoured it and since then I’ve been a huge fan.

A worn out school teacher and recovering alcoholic, August Shroeder is taking a trip to Yellowstone in his RV.  It’s a trip he was supposed to take with his 19-year-old son, Philip. Tragically Philip was in a car accident and passed away recently. So August is making the trip alone.

After running into mechanical trouble with his RV he wonders if his trip is over before it begins. But fate intervenes. Now instead of making the trip alone, he will have two young passengers with him.

Catherine Ryan Hyde does a wonderful job of bringing her characters to life. As I read her books I often find myself nodding along and agreeing with something a character is saying….about love or life or many other things. These characters got into my heart and I have no doubt this book will stay with me a very long time. I was moved to tears on more than a few occasions.

Drawn in from the first page, this was an inspiring and unforgettable story. With fantastic characters and an extremely enjoyable plot, I devoured “Take Me With You” and became a huge fan of Catherine Ryan Hyde.

I highly recommend this book!

 

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Take Me with You by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Leave a Reply

