Goodreads Monday – Pretending to Dance

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners . To take part,  simply choose a random book from your TBR and show it off.  Be sure to check out Lauren’s blog and link back to add your own links!

Today the book I’m going to show off is:

Pretending to Dance by Diane Chamberlain 

Published – October 6, 2015

St. Martins Press

 Book description 

Molly Arnette is very good at keeping secrets. She and her husband live in San Diego, where they hope to soon adopt a baby. But the process terrifies her.

As the questions and background checks come one after another, Molly worries that the truth she’s kept hidden about her North Carolina childhood will rise to the surface and destroy not only her chance at adoption, but also her marriage. She ran away from her family twenty years ago after a shocking event left her devastated and distrustful of those she loved: her mother, the woman who raised her and who Molly says is dead but is very much alive; her birth mother, whose mysterious presence raised so many issues; and the father she adored, whose troubling death sent her running from the small community of Morrison Ridge.

Now, as she tries to find a way to make peace with her past and embrace a future filled with promise, she discovers that even she doesn’t know the truth of what happened in her family of pretenders.

Told with Diane Chamberlain’s compelling prose and gift for deft exploration of the human heart, Pretending to Dance is an exploration of family, lies, and the complexities of both.

**************************************

 I have had this book on my TBR for  almost 2 years. I’m not sure why I haven’t read it yet.  I love Diane Chamberlain’s books so I am almost certain I’ll enjoy this one too. I think it’s just a case of adding new book after new book and other books getting pushed back. I’m going to make it a point to read it sometime in the next month or so. 

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it?

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday – Pretending to Dance

  1. As you know I love my crime/psychological thrillers but believe it or not I’m a huge fan of Diane Chamberlain and have read every book she’s wrote, she hasn’t published a new book for ages though which is a shame x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The only Diane Chamberlain novel that I have read was “Keeper of the light”. I remember really liking it, so I’m not sure why I haven’t tried any of her other books. Do you have a favorite of hers?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

