Review – White Fur by Jardine Libaire

White FurWhite Fur by Jardine Libaire

Published May 30, 2017
Hogarth Press

 

 

 

 

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The description for WHITE FUR had me extremely intrigued.

A stunning star-crossed love story set against the glitz and grit of 1980s New York City

June 1987. The book starts off with an extremely tense situation in a motel room. Two people have been locked in the same position for over two hours. A decision will need to be made.

The author then takes us back to the beginning. January 1986 in Connecticut. Where it all begins.

Twenty-year old, Elise Perez lives with her friend, Robbie. Robbie found her one day sleeping in the backseat of his current boyfriends car. In her fur coat (that she traded a can of Pringles for), she looked like an animal curled up in the backseat. He took her home and they bonded quickly….neither of them knowing what to do with their lives.

They live next door to a couple of rich Yale boys. Elise makes her way outside one night after she sees the boys on the front porch smoking. They invite her in for a beer and she accepts. The neighbors, Matt and Jamey are very different. Matt is cocky and has a coldness about him. Jamey is more relaxed and seems kind. When Matt suggests it’s time for Elise to leave, we find out the real reason she went over there. She has seen Matt trying to entertain his friends by making fun of Robbie. Mimicking his walk and mannerisms when Robbie doesn’t see.


“And if you ever get near my friend Robbie again, let alone make fun of him like I seen you do, I’ll burn your motherfucking house down.”

It almost seems like Matt is going to attack Elise and barely controls himself. However, when Elise looks at Jamey she sees something different in his eyes…respect?

It’s not long after that the relationship between Elise and Jamey begins.

Elise, a high school drop-out, left home a year earlier. She left to save herself from being pulled under by her family. Though they loved her and she loved them she needed to get out. Dirt poor, she’s struggled and fought since the day she was born. Since leaving home she’s done things she may not be proud of, but needed to do to survive.

Jamey grew up with the proverbial silver spoon….There was nothing he wasn’t given. The Golden Boy. He was very young when he realized that everyone thought he knew something that they didn’t.

“They think he knows the secret to life. They get mad when he doesn’t offer it up.”

As the months go by Elise and Jamey grow closer, their crazy, wild, and obsessive relationship taking many unexpected turns. The feelings they have for each other surprising everyone, including them. But so much is working against them. They come from completely different worlds. But the connection pulling them together is so strong. With everything and everyone trying to tear them apart how can their relationship possibly survive? What sacrifices will they have to make in order to be together?

This was a very different novel for me. I had so many different thoughts while reading it. My feelings were all over the place. I’m not a prude. It’s not that I don’t like gritty, grungy, sexy stories…. because I do. But there were some parts that were just too much for me. I couldn’t decide how I felt, but I kept reading. I’m angry at him, her, both of them, neither of them. ARGH. Some of it was painful, but I didn’t stop reading.

Certain parts of their relationship make me uncomfortable. Some of the descriptions and decisions made are supposed to be of two people in love. But I know that we are all different. That every relationship is different. But some of it just didn’t sit well with me. But really…. who am I to judge anyone?

I think I could be in the minority on this one. I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it. I’ve seen a lot of great, positive reviews and that’s awesome. But we all can’t love everything we read. Unfortunately, there were quite a few times where things just didn’t make sense to me, times where the writing confused me. Honestly, I had to look up the definition of more than a few words. That doesn’t mean I couldn’t see the beauty in some of the writing though. But after a while some of the detail seemed excessive.

Oh but there was a lot I DID enjoy about this book. A lot of the writing I highlighted and absolutely loved. And I still wanted to know what was going to happen with Elise and Jamey. So there was no way I was going to stop reading.

In the end, I’m still glad that I read this book. I was okay with how it all came together in the end…I think. I just found the trip a bit turbulent. And of course…this is just my opinion.

Thank you NetGalley and Crown Publishing for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review – White Fur by Jardine Libaire

  1. Great review Deanna! I appreciate that you shared what did and didn’t work for you. I felt very unsure about this one so rather than requesting on net galley I’m on my library waitlist. After reading the plot summary I felt I could go either way with this type of story. The fact that you said there’s parts with too many details…that’s a red flag for me because I can’t stand reading lots ion details in books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

