Throwback Thursday – Walk Me Home by Catherine Ryan Hyde

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is : Walk Me Home
by Catherine Ryan Hyde

https://i2.wp.com/s.cdon.com/media-dynamic/images/product/book/book/image4/walk_me_home-hyde_catherine_ryan-21889884-1388231794-frntl.jpg

Over the last few years I have read quite a few of Catherine Ryan Hyde’s books. I have really enjoyed them, which is why I am choosing another one of her books for this week’s throwback. “Walk Me Home”  is definitely one of my favorites. I loved this story.

Sixteen-year old Carly and twelve-year old Jen are sisters who are traveling cross-country by themselves to find their mother’s ex-boyfriend, Teddy.  They are in trouble and they feel that Teddy is the only one who can help them.

As we learn more about their past and why they are running, it’s not long before we see that their journey is going to be far from smooth. But sometimes help comes from the most unexpected places.

This book really took me into the sisters world. Their characters were very well-developed and the story gripped me from the start. I became invested in these girls and what they were going through. I had difficulty putting the book down.

A great book with a wonderful cast of characters. Characters like Dolores and Alvin who flaws and all, stake a place in your heart and stay with you long after you’ve finished the book.

“Walk Me Home” is a very well-written,   coming of age story with two very special sisters who warmed my heart.

I look forward to reading more from Catherine Ryan Hyde and I highly recommend this book.

 

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Walk Me Home by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Leave a Reply

