Review – Until It Fades by K.A. Tucker

Until It FadesUntil It Fades by K.A. Tucker

Expected publication: June 27th 2017

Atria Books

 

 

 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was really interested after reading the description for this book. “Until it Fades” is my first K.A. Tucker read. I have heard great things about her books. I also read that this book is nothing like her other books. So I wasn’t sure what to expect.

After being the “talk of the town” once in small town Balsam, Pennsylvania, twenty-four-year-old Catherine Wright isn’t eager for that to happen again. She just wants to blend into the background and live in peace with her five-year old daughter.

Unfortunately, if you save the life of a hockey star that everyone…especially the media loves? It’s not so easy keeping a low profile.

Catherine is heading home after a terrible first date. It’s a foggy night so she’s taking it slow, not like the red sports car that zips past her. But a few miles down the road she’s horrified to see that the car that just sped by her has crashed. She jumps out of her car to help and ends up saving the life of Philadelphia Flyers star hockey player, Brett Madden.

Suddenly everyone wants to talk to the small town heroine. But Catherine wants to remain anonymous. She wants no part of the media circus that surrounds her act of heroism.

Catherine hasn’t always made the best choices and has had some pretty crappy experiences which combined would understandably give anyone trust issues. And living in a small town where no one lets you forget your past is definitely not easy. Now that she has a child however, she is trying to move on with her life. However being alone can be very….lonely. And although she wants to be independent, somewhere in the back of her mind she hopes for a happily ever after.

We learn a lot about Catherine. Her history and present life. This takes up quite a bit of the book. Not that it’s not interesting because it is, but the rest of the story really took it’s time getting going. Sometimes I love a good slow burning read, but this one was quite a bit slower than normal. However, there was a lot about this book that I enjoyed. I really liked Catherine’s relationship with her daughter, Brenna and how focused she was on being a good mother. Brenna was such a sweet character. They way she spoke and her mannerisms made me smile and laugh aloud at times.

The book is well written and the story was easy to follow. I don’t read a lot of romance books, but I found Catherine and Brett interesting and enjoyed how they interacted with each other and other characters. So while it did take some time to get going and it was a bit predictable, it really was a sweet story with some surprises that made me glad I stuck with it.

I think that many people will love this book. Sometimes it’s nice escaping reality into a sweet and sexy romance novel.

Thank you NetGalley and Atria Books for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

8 thoughts on “Review – Until It Fades by K.A. Tucker

Leave a Reply

