Review: Follow Me Back (Follow Me Back #1) by A.V. Geiger

32470611Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger

Published June 6, 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I requested this novel, I had no idea it was the first book in a series. So when I finished the book……at first I was REALLY mad. THAT ending! Then I realized it said book #1 after the title (I have no idea how I missed that). So after seeing that there is another book coming, I was feeling a whole lot better. Wow! I just wasn’t expecting it to end the way it did.

Tessa Hart spends almost all of her time in her bedroom. She is suffering from Agoraphobia after a frightening experience on a school trip. Even leaving her bedroom to sit on the couch with her mother is a huge feat. This leaves Tessa with a very small world. She only interacts with three people in real life. Her mom, her therapist (one who comes to her house for their appointments) and her boyfriend, Scott. But she feels like everyone is losing patience with her. The one place Tessa likes to escape to is Twitter and the online world of famous pop star, Eric Thorn. She loves him and enjoys tweeting about him and following everything he does.

Eric Thorn on the other hand has become more and more anxious and frustrated with his online and on stage persona. His anxiety has only increased since the death of another popular rock star…. at the hands of an obsessed fan. Eric is consumed with thoughts of female fans stalking him. He feels he has no life. Every moment of the day scheduled by his manager and the record company. It doesn’t seem like it’s about the music any more. It’s all about fans wanting to see pics of him half-naked. But his PR people not only brush off his concerns, but tell him to become even MORE involved with his fans. And even if he wanted to walk away….he can’t because he’s under contract for at least two or three more years.

When Tessa creates #EricThornObsessed hits number one on Twitter, she is shocked (and more than a little thrilled) about the popularity of her hashtag……. Eric’s PR people are also happy. But Eric?

Eric Thorn is pissed off! And he wants to do something about it.

What will Eric do to make people take him seriously? And what exactly happened to Tess that has her so terrified? Is it possible that they may be able to help each other?

As I read I had to remind myself that this is a book written for young adults ages 14 and up. It definitely reads like a YA novel with the language and situations etc. However, I still enjoyed it and I imagine many others will too.

There are a few things I may not have understood if I didn’t have a teenage daughter around to ask. A large part of the story is told using Twitter direct messages as well as police reports and statements. I thought it was a really interesting way of telling the story.

Although this is a YA book, it dealt with a lot of serious issues. I think it could be very eye-opening to many young adults and adults alike. While being entertaining, it brings up many important issues like internet safety, stalking, Agoraphobia, mental health and more. You can tell the author has done their research.

With social media being such a huge part of our everyday lives now, we have to be vigilant with what we share. I’m constantly after my daughter, making sure she’s careful with what she posts, who she adds, what she says etc. More and more we can see that many adults need to be more cautious about what they are putting out there too! We all do. Social media is a part of our lives and it’s only growing bigger. We will have to continue learning how to adjust and grow with it.

This was a highly captivating read. The suspense was great and the author did a great job of holding interest in the story. While some parts may seem implausible, it was an enjoyable book that I could escape into and just enjoy.

Oh but those last few chapters were REALLY intense! I was SHOCKED with how it ended.

I have to read book two. I’m really hoping it isn’t too far off!

Thank you NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

10 thoughts on “Review: Follow Me Back (Follow Me Back #1) by A.V. Geiger

    • Thank you! It is a good book. But if you are like me then you might want to wait until the second one is available. As I said it’s definitely a young adult book but I enjoy a lot of young adult books so that didn’t bother me. I really like books involving social media so that’s a big part of what drew me to this book.
      I look forward to hearing what you think if/when you read it. πŸ’•

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

