Review – Bring Her Home by David Bell

32765259Bring Her Home by David Bell

Published July 11,Β  2017

Berkley Books

4.5 Stars!!

I read the description for this book and I knew it was a book that I had to read. I was positive I was going to enjoy it. I’m really happy to say that “Bring Her Home” did not let me down.

The book opens with a father charging into an emergency room looking for his daughter. Bill Price had received the call that no father wants to get….

“She’s here. Somewhere. She’s here”

The emergency room is packed and he has no idea where to go. No one will answer him. He wonders if he’ll have to make a scene to get noticed. Finally he gets the attention of a stressed-out nurse…

“My daughter is here. Summer Price. Summer Price is my daughter”

She recognizes the name and calls someone. Finally someone comes out to see him. It’s someone who Bill knows very well…Detective Hawkins. He thinks the detective is taking him to see his daughter but instead takes him into a family room. Bill has been in one of these rooms before…only a year and a half ago. It’s a room that usually means bad news.

He asks the detective where Summer is, but doesn’t get an answer.

“Where is she? Just tell me something”

He’s terrified but starting to get angry. Finally the detective answers him.

“She’s alive, Bill. But we should talk inside”

Summer and her best friend Haley left the house a few days earlier and hadn’t been seen since. Finally they were found in a local park after an anonymous call to police. Haley was found dead at the scene. Summer was alive but barely.

The detective warns Bill to brace himself before seeing Summer. She has been badly beaten. She is unconscious and nearly unrecognizable with amount of damage done to her head and face. Bill just wants to be with his daughter. He realizes how easily it could have been him mourning the death of his daughter like Haley’s parents are. Although she has a long road to recovery, He knows he’s lucky that she’s alive.

Why would anyone do this to two young girls? What could Haley and Summer have gotten mixed up in?

Utterly gripping and tense, I hated putting this book down. I was hooked. If life hadn’t gotten in the way, I could easily have read this in one or two sittings.

The author has a wonderful way of creating suspense and hitting the reader with a twist when they least expect it. The first twist, sent me reeling. Just when I thought I recovered from that, another one was soon to follow. The entire book was like that. So many twists and turns with an excellent plot that kept me gripped and excited to see what was going to happen next. I may have guessed a couple of things before they happened, but even then I was still enjoying how everything played out.

David Bell knows how to write a story that keeps you on your toes, ratcheting up the suspense making it very difficult to put the book down. I’m really looking forward to reading more from this author.

Thank you, Berkley Books and David Bell for providing an advanced readers copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

15 thoughts on “Review – Bring Her Home by David Bell

  1. I am reading this book as we speak. Finally we are reading a book at the same time. The first book I read from this author Cemetery Girl was awesome and I have all his other books too. So glad you liked it. I would suggest you read his other books if you haven’t already. You will not be disappointed!! πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! I’m glad you’re reading it. Are you enjoying it? I’m pretty sure I have read one or two I just can’t remember which ones. However, I don’t think I’ve read Cemetery Girl, so I will definitely check that one out.
      Happy reading! 🌸

      Like

      • Yes I am finding it very hard to put down!! I will let you know what I think when I’m done reading it but loving it so far!!! πŸ¦„

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

