Throwback Thursday: Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is: Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

14866

Published March 5th 2007 by Atria Books

Goodreads Description:

Jodi Picoult, bestselling author of My Sister’s Keeper and The Tenth Circle, pens her most riveting book yet, with a startling and poignant story about the devastating aftermath of a small-town tragedy.

Sterling is an ordinary New Hampshire town where nothing ever happens–until the day its complacency is shattered by an act of violence. Josie Cormier, the daughter of the judge sitting on the case, should be the state’s best witness, but she can’t remember what happened before her very own eyes–or can she? As the trial progresses, fault lines between the high school and the adult community begin to show–destroying the closest of friendships and families.

Nineteen Minutes asks what it means to be different in our society, who has the right to judge someone else, and whether anyone is ever really who they seem to be.

 

My thoughts:

I know I’ve chosen a few Jodi Picoult reads for Throwback Thursday, but I have really enjoyed many of her books. This one was especially gripping. I believe I read this in just one or two sittings. Her books usually take hold of me and don’t let go until I’ve finished the last page and closed the book….and most of the time long after that. NINETEEN MINUTES was definitely one of those reads.

“In nineteen minutes, you can mow the front lawn; color your hair; watch a third of a hockey game. In nineteen minutes, you can bake scones or get a tooth filled by a dentist; you can fold laundry for a family of five. In nineteen minutes, you can stop the world; or you can just jump off it.”

NINETEEN MINUTES is a well written, emotional, and intelligent read that I highly recommend.

14 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

  1. One of my favorite Jodi Picoult books! It was brilliant! Left me in tears. And deeply unsettled since I teach kids just a little older than this in college. As a teacher now, you just never know what will happen anymore….Excellent pick!

    Liked by 1 person

      • They definitely do!! I can’t read one of her books without thinking so in depth about the subject afterward! Yes, as a teacher any thing like that hits you, especially when you have to do the yearly training on what you would do in that case. You think you are prepared, but I always wonder…what would I do?? It’s something you try not to think about but it’s always in the back of your mind nowadays especially 😦 I know! I always get so excited when she has a new book coming out!! It’s like Christmas, lol!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

