Throwback Thursday – Don’t Let Me Go by Catherine Ryan Hyde

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is: Don’t Let Me Go by Catherine Ryan Hyde

12030880

Don’t Let Me Go by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Published September 29, 2011 by Black Swan Books Ltd

 

Goodreads Description:

Sometimes a child knows better…

Grace
Ten-year-old Grace knows that her mum loves her, but her mum loves drugs too. And there’s only so long Grace can fend off the ‘woman from the county’ who is threatening to put her into care. Her only hope is…

Billy
Grown-man Billy Shine hasn’t been out of his apartment for years. People scare him, and the outside world scares him even more. Day in, day out, he lives a perfectly orchestrated silent life within his four walls. Until now. . .

The Plan
Grace bursts into Billy’s life with a loud voice and a brave plan to get her mum clean. And it won’t be easy, because they will have to confiscate the one thing her mum holds most dear . . . they will have to kidnap Grace.

 

My thoughts:

This was such a wonderful read.  I’m a huge fan of Catherine Ryan Hyde, and “Don’t Let Me Go” was one of the books that started it all. Her books always evoke a wide variety of emotions in me. I can be laughing one moment and crying the next but always enjoying the story.

I read this novel a few years ago. I thought that the characters were great and very well-developed. My favorite was Grace. I fell in love with her almost instantly. The kind of character that’s hard to forget. Actually most of the characters in this book are unforgettable.

This was a friend’s book that I happened to pick up. I read a few pages and asked if I could borrow it. I went home that night and read it from start to finish.

I can’t wait to read more from Catherine Ryan Hyde. I highly recommend this novel!

 

11 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Don’t Let Me Go by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Leave a Reply

