Review – The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

33230889

The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

August 8,Β  2017 by HarperCollins

5 Stars !!

After reading the description and the prequel for this novel, I knew I had to read it soon. This book was INTENSE! It honestly had me feeling ALL THE FEELS. I really did both laugh and cry while reading this novel. “The Good Daughter” had me in its clutches from page one until the very end, and I’m still feeling the after-effects.

The book opens in 1989. Samantha Quinn is fifteen years-old and her younger sister, Charlie is thirteen. The Quinn family are living in an old farmhouse after someone burned their house down with a Molotov cocktail. The attack was likely someone angry at lawyer father, Rusty Quinn who often defends men many lawyers would never represent.

But not even two weeks later, another attack of violence and brutality changes the lives of everyone in the Quinn family forever.

Twenty-eight years later, Charlie Quinn has followed in her father’s footsteps and is now a lawyer in small town Pikeville. But that’s where the similarities between Charlie and her father end. Charlie passed up jobs with big firms in the city. She moved back and decided she wanted to help normal, everyday people who found themselves in trouble and didn’t have someone smart enough, or even who cared enough to try to get them out of trouble.

Charlie’s husband, Ben is a prosecutor and she is a defense attorney. Her father, Rusty Quinn defends robbers, drug dealers, and murderers. The people in town either loved him or hated him. It depended on whether or not they or their family members had ever needed his services.

Charlie is tough and can be quite impulsive. She’ll often act without thinking of the consequences. For example: shoving a man who slapped his wife in the grocery store, antagonizing a group of thugs, or going alone to rough areas of town in the middle of the night.

“Charlie would sprint head first into a buzz saw if given the right set of circumstances”.

But when Charlie witnesses a horrific act of violence, old feelings and memories rise to the surface, forcing her to face things that she tried hard to suppress. But most secrets don’t stay buried forever. You may think you can put your secrets in a “box on the shelf” but eventually those boxes either burst open on their own or you open them up to deal with them.

“Just like before, her heart stopped beating. Her throat closed. Her vision tunneled. Everything looked small, narrowed to a single, tiny point.”

I know I’ve said this before and it has happened before, but I did NOT want to put this book down. I was up until after 4am reading. I needed to know what was going to happen next.

“The Good Daughter” is the kind of novel that evokes a wide variety of emotions, leaving you feeling like you’ve been hit by a truck. At times it was so intense that I really was holding my breath in anticipation of what was coming next….

I will warn readers, that there are some parts that are very difficult to read, the subject matter can be quite upsetting. However, I was able to skim those parts without missing much of the story-line.

After an author has written so many books, I feel like it must be very difficult to come up with new plots that twist and turn. But Karin Slaughter does it. She can stop me in my tracks with one twisty sentence. I don’t think I saw any of the twists coming. The main characters and the supporting characters were fantastically well-developed. They all added something to the story.

I wanted to discuss this book with everyone. “The Good Daughter” is an addictive and compelling psychological thriller with a mind-bending and thoroughly engrossing plot.

Highly recommended!

Thank you to Netgalley and HarperCollins for an advanced copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

16 thoughts on “Review – The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter

  1. I love it when a book keeps me up all hours of the night! I haven’t been able to get an ARC of this one so I have to wait until Tues but I plan on buying it asap if I don’t get a library copy right away. I’m glad it’s possible to skim through the super graphic violence part and not miss anything…I had to do that in Pretty Girls as well. Great review Deanna!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you get a copy to read soon!!
    I had a hard time with Pretty Girls. I found there was so much to skip through. It felt like the brutality was never ending. But I was still interested in the plot and finding out what happened etc. While this one definitely has some difficult moments, it had such a great storyline and I didn’t feel like I had to skip anywhere near his much.
    I look forward to hearing what you think of this one!! πŸ€—

    Like

  3. Love your review Deanna! 😊 I thought it was funny we both posted our review the same day, lol. Great minds, huh?? We were both up till the middle of the night finishing it…I read it in 3 hrs it was soooo good!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! It was a wonderful book to review but I’m such a Slaughter fan that I can’t imagine not enjoying her books! ❀❀ Happy Friday! And I’m on my vacation as of now, so I’ll won’t be on my blog until around Sept 17th or 19th except for 1 or 2 ARC reviews coming out early Sept that I have WordPress scheduled to post! I’ll be checking in on your blog when I can though, but I wanted to say bye for now 😊❀ Enjoy your August!!

        Like

  4. Great review!! Stephanie@Stephanie’s Novel Fiction highly recommended this one, but reading your review, I decided to order this book! Thank you so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

