REVIEW – The Girls She Left Behind by Sarah Graves (Lizzie Snow #2)

25487427The Girls She Left Behind by Sarah Graves

Published January 5, 2016 
Bantam

4 Stars!!

This is book two in the “Lizzie Snow” series. It worked out okay as a stand-alone but having a bit of background on Detective Lizzie Snow’s past may have helped me understand a few things a bit more,  but for the most part it was fine.

In the prologue (which takes place fifteen years ago) we meet Janie and Cam.  Fifteen-year-old cousins living in New Haven, Connecticut. The girls spend a lot of time together. Janie is a good girl who always obeys her mother, does all of her homework on time, confesses all of her minor sins, and is tries her best to be perfect. Cam on the other hand, smokes cigarettes, drinks, and is always getting into some kind of trouble. Cam is also very good at persuading Janie to try things she never would have otherwise. Cam has no fear, which scares Janie sometimes.

One night that fearlessness gets both girls into serious trouble….

Fifteen years later, Lizzie Snow, a homicide detective has joined a police force in Bearkill, Maine to look for her missing niece. At the moment forest fires are out of control and there is a threat of evacuation. Now a local teen with a previous history of running away has gone missing. The mother of the missing teen is acting very strangely, she seems to be holding something back.

On top of that they are also searching for a man who has escaped from a mental institution, Henry Gemerle. Gemerle is a kidnapper and rapist. Is it possible he’s connected to the missing teen?

Told from a few different perspectives, at first I had a bit of trouble following along. I wasn’t always sure whose view I was reading, but eventually I caught on. The multiple story lines were all interesting and I was excited to find out how they were all related.

This book really made me think about what I would do in certain situations that came up.  Would I put myself first at all costs? I’d like to think I would think of others, but who’s to say in the heat of the moment (an EXTREMELY scary moment) what I would do.  I’m pretty sure that I’d have a difficult time keeping something so important to myself. I know this sounds cryptic but I don’t want to give anything away.

“The Girls She Left Behind” was a compelling read with unique characters and some very clever twist and turns.  Readers should be aware that there are some disturbing and violent scenes. However, I don’t feel like the author went overboard with too many graphic descriptions. All in all, this was a very intense and satisfying read.

A story with dark secrets, murder, redemption, and revenge!  I look forward to reading more from Sarah Graves.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW – The Girls She Left Behind by Sarah Graves (Lizzie Snow #2)

Leave a Reply

