REVIEW: The Mistake I Made by Paula Daly

25697689The Mistake I Made by Paula Daly
Published September 8, 2015 by Grove Press

I have enjoyed a few of Paula Daly’s other books so I was pretty sure I would enjoy this one too.

Right at the start, I couldn’t help but feel for main character, Roz. She’s struggling at work, then rushing home to pick  right home to up her son, George on time from after school care. Her husband ran up a bunch of debt, ran around on her, and then ran home to his mother. As a result she lost her business and home (and even the family dog). And now her low paying job leaves her with barely enough money to pay the rent.

Many of the struggles she was having as a single mother rang true. Her relationship with her son was really sweet, you could feel how she was trying to do right by him. Nine-year-old George also came across very genuine. I loved the way the two of them interacted. Circumstances just kept knocking her closer to the breaking point.

Then she comes home to find an eviction notice on her door. She now has just two weeks to figure everything out.

Who wouldn’t at least consider agreeing to an indecent proposal?

I really felt for what Roz was going through. The desperation was clear to see and I found myself trying to figure out what I would do in some of the same situations. Many of the author’s descriptions were bang on. The cast of characters was great. Some of the interactions she had while working with her patients were laugh out loud funny.

While this is definitely not a typical thriller, it was quite suspenseful and it had me gripped. I had to know what was going to happen next. “The Mistake I Made” is a well written, witty, and entertaining novel that I read in just a couple of sittings.

I really enjoyed this novel from Paula Daly and I am definitely looking forward to more.

 

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Mistake I Made by Paula Daly

Leave a Reply

