Throwback Thursday -The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is: The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

 

37435

Published January 28, 2003 by Penguin Books

 

Goodreads Description:

Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily’s fierce-hearted black “stand-in mother,” Rosaleen, insults three of the deepest racists in town, Lily decides to spring them both free. They escape to Tiburon, South Carolina–a town that holds the secret to her mother’s past. Taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters, Lily is introduced to their mesmerizing world of bees and honey, and the Black Madonna. This is a remarkable novel about divine female power, a story women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

 

My Thoughts:

This was a great story that pulled me in, and kept me gripped from start to finish. I had a hard time putting this one down. A beautiful story about love, loss, and hope.

Highly recommend!!!

Advertisements

REVIEW: In Twenty Years by Allison Winn Scotch

28135067

Published July 1st 2016 by Lake Union Publishing

 

I am quite surprised that I haven’t read anything from Allison Winn Scotch before. When I came across this book and thought it sounded very interesting. A bit of a lighter read after all of the thrillers and books about missing adults and children that I have read lately.

I read this quite quickly. The plot was good and flowed well. As I am almost the same age as these characters I could relate to a lot of what was going on back when they were in their early twenties and also twenty years later.

Twenty years ago, six friends shared a house while attending Penn University. Bea, Annie, Catherine, Owen, Colin and Lindy. They considered themselves not just friends but family. They promised themselves and each other that no matter what happened in life they would always remain close.

“We were twenty-one. We were allowed to believe impossible things.”

However, life happens and as the years pass a few things happen that end up severing the ties between many members of the group.

Now twenty years later the five friends have been summoned back to the house they lived in all those years ago. It is the 4th of July weekend and they have all returned to the house that held so many memories. But this isn’t exactly a happy homecoming. All of the friends have returned not only with the issues they have with each other but the many issues they have going on in their own lives. So many secrets and things left unsaid.

Will they take this chance to make things right? Can they come together and be as close as they once were? Or will stubbornness, insecurities, and revealed secrets pull them even further apart?

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were compelling and well-developed. The author skillfully writes about secrets, friendships and marriage. It all felt very believable. The egos and insecurities and all of the things that get in the way of relationships. Her descriptions of those gut wrenching feelings of crushes, early love , break-ups as well as unrequited love were bang on. I remember when forty felt so far away and twenty years a lifetime. I felt nostalgic reading this. It made me even more aware of how my own life has changed over the years. Makes me feel like I need to do a better job of reaching out to some of my old friends.

The one thing I do wish was that the ending was a bit longer and more detailed. I can understand where the author was going with it, sort of leaving some things up in the air, but I think it would have been really nice to see how things tuned out for these characters that I grew to care about.

All in all an engaging read that held my interest from beginning to end. I am definitely looking forward to reading more from Allison Winn Scotch.

Goodreads Monday – December 11, 2017

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners . To take part,  simply choose a random book from your TBR and show it off.  Be sure to check out Lauren’s blog too!!

Today the book I’m going to show off is :

 

Only Child by Rhiannon Navin

35356378

Expected publication: February 6, 2018

Knopf Publishing Group

 

Goodreads Description:

 For readers of Room and The Girls, a dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children, narrated by a seven-year-old boy who reminds us that sometimes the littlest bodies hold the biggest hearts and the quietest voices speak the loudest.

Squeezed into a coat closet with his classmates and teacher, first grader Zach Taylor can hear gunshots ringing through the halls of his school. A gunman has entered the building, taking nineteen lives and irrevocably changing the very fabric of this close-knit community. While Zach’s mother pursues a quest for justice against the shooter’s parents, holding them responsible for their son’s actions, Zach retreats into his super-secret hideout and loses himself in a world of books and art. Armed with his newfound understanding, and with the optimism and stubbornness only a child could have, Zach sets out on a captivating journey towards healing and forgiveness, determined to help the adults in his life rediscover the universal truths of love and compassion needed to pull them through their darkest hours.

 

My Thoughts:

Before I’d even read the entire book description I knew this was going to be a book that I would have to read.  It sounds like it could be a very emotional and intense read….

I CAN’T WAIT!

 

Music Monday: Billy Talent – Nothing To Lose

musicmonday

Music Monday is a meme that was created by Drew from The Tattooed Book Geek. You pick a song and/or video and share it on Monday.

The song and video I am sharing today is:

 

Billy Talent – Nothing to Lose

Nothing to Lose” is a single by Canadian band, Billy Talent. It was released in November of 2004.

The song and video help bring awareness to important issues like bullying and suicide.

For every time the song was played on certain Canadian radio stations, Billy Talent donated $1.00 to the Canadian organization Kids Help Phone. Kids Help Phone is a toll-free phone counselling service for children, which suits the song as Kids Help Phone receives many calls from distressed and suicidal teens.

 

“Nothing To Lose”

Need more friends with wings
All the angels I know
Put concrete in my veins
I’d always walk home alone
So I became lifeless
Just like my telephone

There’s nothing to lose
When no one knows your name
There’s nothing to gain
But the days don’t seem to change

Never played truth or dare
I’d have to check my mirror
To see if I’m still here
My parents had no clue
That I ate all my lunches
Alone in the bathroom

There’s nothing to lose
When no one knows your name
There’s nothing to gain
But the days don’t seem to change
There’s nothing to lose
My notebook will explain
There’s nothing to gain
And I can’t fight the pain

Teachers said “it’s just a phase”
When I grow up my children
Will probably do the same
Kids just love to tease
Who’d know it put me underground at seventeen

There’s nothing to lose
When no one knows your name
There’s nothing to gain
But the days don’t seem to change
There’s nothing to lose
My notebook will explain
There’s nothing to gain
And I can’t fight the pain
There’s nothing to lose
When no one knows your name
There’s nothing to gain
But the days don’t seem to change
There’s nothing to lose
My notebook will explain

There’s nothing to lose
When no one knows your name
There’s nothing to gain
And I just died today