Throwback Thursday – Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon

throwbackthursday

Throwback Thursday is a meme created by Renee at It’s Book Talk to share old favorite books rather than just the new shiny ones. This is a great idea to bring back to life some much-loved books. Please feel free to join in.

My choice for this week is:

Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon

Try Not to Breathe

Published February 23rd, 2016 by Ballantine Books

Goodreads Description:

For fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, an arresting debut novel of psychological suspense: a young journalist struggles to keep the demons of her alcoholism at bay as she finds her purpose again in tackling the mystery of a shocking headline-making crime, still unsolved after fifteen years.

Amy Stevenson was the biggest news story of 1995. Only fifteen years old, Amy disappeared walking home from school one day and was found in a coma three days later. Her attacker was never identified and her angelic face was plastered across every paper and nightly news segment.

Fifteen years later, Amy lies in the hospital, surrounded by 90’s Britpop posters, forgotten by the world until reporter Alex Dale stumbles across her while researching a routine story on vegetative patients.

Remembering Amy’s story like it was yesterday, she feels compelled to solve the long-cold case.

The only problem is, Alex is just as lost as Amy—her alcoholism has cost her everything including her marriage and her professional reputation.

In the hopes that finding Amy’s attacker will be her own salvation as well, Alex embarks on a dangerous investigation, suspecting someone close to Amy.

Told in the present by an increasingly fragile Alex and in dream-like flashbacks by Amy as she floats in a fog of memories, dreams, and music from 1995, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer to a breathtaking conclusion.

My Thoughts:

Alex Dale is a young journalist whose focus is mostly on trying to maintain her alcoholism. She rides the line between serious drinker and functioning alcoholic. After losing her job and her husband, she’s barely hanging on.

While writing an article about a doctor who is researching brain scans showing signs of communication from patients in a vegetative state, Alex visits a hospital ward where these patients live. Among these patients is Amy Stevenson. Amy has been in a coma since 1995 after being brutally attacked.

Alex feels a connection to Amy. They are the same age and Alex remembers when Amy was attacked. She becomes obsessed with wanting to find out what happened to Amy and wants to tell her story.

“Some secrets never die. They’re just locked away.”

“Try Not to Breathe” was a novel I really enjoyed. An interesting and entertaining psychological suspense novel that held my interest from start to finish.


 

 

 

Advertisements

Teaser Tuesday – September 18, 2018

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Purple Booker.

It is very easy to play along:

• Grab your current read and open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
• Share the title & author, too, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 

Here are my “teasers” :

“You want to know where she has gone and whether I had something to do with it. Of course I did. We both know that already.  I’m trying to understand how I ended up here. I don’t know why exactly, but I do know it all started in the change rooms.”

 

From the novel:

 

The Spite Game by Anna Snoekstra

The Spite Game

Expected publication: October 30th 2018 by Mira Books

 

Goodreads Description:

Everyone does bad things when no one is watching

Mercilessly bullied in high school, Ava knows she needs to put the past behind her and move on, but she can’t—not until she’s exacted precise, catastrophic revenge on the people who hurt her the most.

First, she watches Saanvi. Flawlessly chic and working hard at a top architectural firm, Saanvi has it all together on the surface. But everyone does bad things when they think no one is watching and Ava only wants what’s fair—to destroy Saanvi’s life the way her own was destroyed.

Next, she watches Cass. She’s there as Cass tries on wedding dresses, she’s there when Cass picks out a cake, she’s there when Cass betrays her fiancé. She’s the reason Cass’s entire future comes crashing down.

Finally, Ava watches Mel. Mel was always the ringleader and if anyone has to pay, it’s her. But one tiny slipup and Ava realizes the truth: Mel knows she’s being watched, and she’s ready to play Ava’s games to the bitter end.

 

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed one of this author’s previous novels, “Only Daughter“. After reading the description for this novel, I knew it was one I had to read. I’ve only read a few pages, but so far I am enjoying it.  I look forward to reading more!

 

 

REVIEW – A Little Bird Told Me by Marianne Holmes

A Little Bird Told Me

Published September 13th, 2018 by Agora Books

 

“We’re all about secrets in this family”

The book starts in the Summer of 1976. Robyn has spent the summer swimming and hanging out with her brother, Kit and their friends.

Robyn is curious about the women and children her mother brings home, but when an angry man shows up at the door one day, Robyn is frightened. She hears people talking about her family, gossiping about her mother. She feels like everyone is keeping secrets from her and so what harm will come if she keeps some of her own?

A stranger takes an interest in Robyn. She’s not frightened of him…although she knows she probably should be.  She knows she should tell her mother about the Cowboy who says odd things and gives her little gifts.

Who is this strange man? What does he want with Robyn?

Something happens that summer….something that changes Robyn and her family’s life forever.

Twelve years later (1988) Robyn and her brother have returned to town to find answers. Will they get the answers they seek?  Or will they end up with more than they bargained for?

“Family is blood and pain”

This story alternates between 1976 and 1988. I found it easy to keep track of which timeframe I was reading. I thought the plot was good, but there were times things seemed to drag on a little. However, I was invested in the story and the characters, and I really wanted to see how it all played out.

Overall, I enjoyed “A Little Bird Told Me”. It was a good debut novel. I’m interested in seeing what Marianne Holmes writes next.

I’d like to thank Agora Books for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.

Music Monday – Journey – Don’t Stop Believin’

musicmonday

Music Monday is a meme that was created by Drew from The Tattooed Book Geek. You pick a song and/or video and share it on Monday.

The song and video I am sharing today is:

 

Journey – Don’t Stop Believin’

This is one of my very favorite songs. I can listen to it over and over and never get sick of it. I can’t find the original video so I’m posting a “Live in Houston” clip and an old clip from Glee.

 

 

“Don’t Stop Believin'”

Just a small town girl
Livin’ in a lonely world
She took the midnight train goin’ anywhere

Just a city boy
Born and raised in South Detroit
He took the midnight train goin’ anywhere

A singer in a smokey room
The smell of wine and cheap perfume
For a smile they can share the night
It goes on and on, and on, and on

Strangers waiting
Up and down the boulevard
Their shadows searching in the night

Streetlights people
Livin’ just to find emotion
Hidin’ somewhere in the night

Workin’ hard to get my fill
Everybody wants a thrill
Payin’ anything to roll the dice just one more time

Some will win, some will lose
Some were born to sing the blues
Oh, the movie never ends
It goes on and on, and on, and on

Strangers waiting
Up and down the boulevard
Their shadows searching in the night

Streetlights people
Livin’ just to find emotion
Hidin’ somewhere in the night

Don’t stop believin’
Hold on to that feelin’
Streetlight people

Don’t stop believin’
Hold on
Streetlight people

Don’t stop believin’
Hold on to that feelin’
Streetlight people

Songwriters: STEVE PERRY, JONATHAN CAIN, NEAL SCHON