BOOK REVIEW – Where Butterflies Wander by Suzanne Redfearn

Published February 6, 2024 by Lake Union Publishing

I’m pretty sure I’ve given all of Suzanne Redfearn’s novels five stars and Where Butterflies Wander was no different. I loved it!

After a tragedy, the Egide family is hoping a change in location will help them with a fresh start. Marie, her husband, Leo and their three children travel to New Hampshire and the family estate that was left to Marie by her late grandfather. They plan to spend the summer getting the estate read to sell.

Unfortunately, plans are drastically changed after they meet Davina, a veteran many locals call “the river witch”. Davina has been living in a cabin on the property for many years. They quickly learn that Davina has no plans on moving. Needless to say, Marie is not happy about the change in plans. Davina and Marie both stand their ground. Their personalities collide and a standoff ensues.

I devoured this book!!

I was completely engrossed in this beautifully written story with its perfectly imperfect characters. The story is told from six points of view. We hear from Marie, her husband, Leo, their three children, as well as Davina the river witch. All the points of view melded together wonderfully.

Where Butterflies Wander is a compelling and moving story about grief, love, family, loss and healing. Realistic characters and a unique plot are among the many reasons I had a difficult time putting this book down.

The audio for this book was also phenomenal. Great narrators that were perfect for the characters they portrayed.

This is definitely one of my favorite reads of 2024!

I’d like to thank the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this novel. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW – Where Butterflies Wander by Suzanne Redfearn

  1. I’ve not read any Suzanne Redfern books, but it sounds like I am missing out. Wonderful review of this one and I will be checking out this book and her backlist.

    Like

Leave a comment