Review – Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini

Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and ScientologyTroublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini

Published November 3, 2015
Ballantine Books

 

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was so excited when I heard that this book was coming out.

I LOVE Leah Remini, and after she left Scientology in 2013 my curiosity about both her and Scientology increased.

This was also only my second audio-book ever! I have nothing against audio books I just hadn’t had the opportunity to listen to one until recently.

Considering how much I really liked Leah and that I’d been wanting to learn more about Scientology for a while, I figured this would be a good one. And it really was. I enjoyed listening to her.

She wrote the book from her heart. Using her personal knowledge to portray her experiences with Scientology and the repercussions she endured as a result of living it and eventually leaving it.

I love the fact that right at the beginning of the book she mentions all of the things that she and her family have done. For example the fact that she fell in love with a married man, lied, cheated, physically threatened people (parking meter maids and people who hit their kids in public). Apparently her husband sold drugs and cheated. She says her mom was promiscuous in her younger days, dad sold cocaine and was set to Rikers…

She reveals this and more because she said Scientology will pay a lot of money to dig up all of this to prove that their religious beliefs are being attacked…so they will definitely try to disparage her reputation.

This was a great audiobook. I learned a lot more about Scientology. I really cannot believe how much MONEY and TIME you have to put in to be involved in Scientology. The fact that they will even help you get a loan to pay your “Donation”?

Plus learning about the rest of Leah’s life and the people in it was really interesting.

I still love her …probably even more now!

Honest, real, educational and highly entertaining! It was a great listen 🙂

 

One thought on “Review – Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini

Leave a comment